The Basic Toolbox: Tools every crafter must have

toolbox

I can’t remember when exactly I got into DIY or crafting. When I was younger, I loved to color and draw—I even still have most of my crayons from when I was kid—but I was never building things the way some kids did. Now, all I want to do is make stuff, and thankfully I’ve put together a good set of tools, so good that my dad is always asking to borrow some of them.

If you’re constantly itching to create well, anything, there are a few tools you need to have in a toolbox of your own.

Scissors – Something I didn’t know until I started spending hours at Michael’s Arts and Crafts is that there are lots of different types of scissors. A good pair of all-purpose scissors might set you back more than $10, but they’ll likely last a while.

Exact-O Knife/Box cutter – For more intricate cutting, scissors won’t do the trick. That’s when an Exact-O knife will come in handy.

Measuring tape (masking or painter’s) – Of course, a ruler will measure just as well, but with tape you can measure around a curve without having to recall high school geometry.

Glue gun and glue sticks AKA one of the greatest inventions ever. A mini yet durable glue gun won’t cost you more than $10.

Selection of colored construction paper – There were so many times that I needed construction paper for non-crafting purposes, so I realized they’re essential to a good toolbox.

Tape – Masking tape or painter’s tape are the best to have around the house for any purpose, but they’re invaluable when it comes to crafting.

Needles and thread – Surprising, quite a few adults have never held a needle and thread together at the same time, let alone actually sewn something. Learning the basics of hand sewing can be useful even if you’re not a DIYer.

Pins and how to use them – If you’re going to sew anything, then you’re going to need pins. And you’ll need to know how to use them correctly.

Every toolbox will start to look different once Makers develop their favorite types of crafting. So whether you plan to live a life full of DIY or only make the odd craft now and then, putting together a good set of tools can serve a multitude of purposes.

Leave a Reply

