Ron Swanson: Patriot, God of Mustaches and Master Maker

10335779115_98426df623_o

Artwork by B. Baltimore Brown via flickr.com

There have been countless technological advances in recent years, and I’ll be damned if anyone says Netflix isn’t one of them. Unfortunately, I didn’t go on a Netflix binge of the Emmy-nominated show Parks and Recreation until it was over, which meant I missed out on all the references to its quirky characters. My brother gushed over one character in particular: Ron Swanson.

After watching all seven seasons (in about a week), I too reveled in the epitome of cool that is Ron Swanson.

I think my brother admires Ron because of their shared dislike of social interaction. To me, Ron is a Master Maker. If you’re a fan of the show, you know how badass he can be with a piece of wood, varnish and a bandsaw. If you haven’t seen what this man can do, let this fill you in:

What makes Ron Swanson even better is that he’s played by Nick Offerman who is a real-life woodworker with his own wood shop in LA. The comedian and writer is also an appreciator of the DIY or die lifestyle. In his new book, Gumption: Relighting the Torch of Freedom with America’s Gutsiest Troublemakers, Offerman shares his inspiration drawn from American historical figures known for their rebellious nature. That is the essence of Ron Swanson: an oxymoronic combination of patriotism and rebellion.

I can only dream of having half of his skill and confidence.

giphy

giphy-1

Ron/Nick, I salute you.

Leave a Reply

